2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

2017 FIFA Confederations Cup


The Winner:Germany
Dates:17 June — 2 July 2017
2017 FIFA Confederations Cup | Results | Tables | Fans' guide | Teams | Predictions & Betting Tips

The Confederations Cup is a tournament traditionally held one year before the World Cup in the country hosting the World Cup.

Eight national teams participate in the tournament: the tournament host country, winners of the continents championships, and also the current World Cup Champion. Thus, the following will take part in the tournament:

  1. The Tournament Host Country;
  2. The previous World Cup Champion;
  3. The European Championship Winner;
  4. The African Cup of Nations Winner;
  5. The Copa America Winner;
  6. The Asian Cup Winner;
  7. The OFC Nations Cup Winner;
  8. The CONCACAF Gold Cup Winner.

2017 FIFA Confederations Cup

The next Confederations Cup will be played in the summer 2017. The tournament will take place in Russia from June 17 to July 2 in four cities: Saint Petersburg, Moscow, Sochi and Kazan. The opening and final matches will be held in Saint Petersburg.

“Krestovsky Stadium” stadium where the final match is held
“Krestovsky Stadium” stadium where the final match is held

The following teams were qualified for the 2017 Confederations Cup: Russia, Germany, Portugal, Cameroon, Chile, Australia, New Zealand and Mexico. Teams are divided into two groups of four teams which will play the round-robin tournament. Two best teams of each group will enter the semi-final, then the semi-final winners will compete for the Cup at a face-to-face meeting. At the draw, teams of Russia, New Zealand, Portugal and Mexico go into Group A. Teams of Cameroon, Chile, Germany and Australia enter Group B.

Confederations Cup
Confederations Cup

The Confederations Cup provokes great interest of fans all over world. Over 300 thousand ticket requests arrived already six months before the tournament. The Russian team matches and the tournament playoffs are of the utmost interest. Football fans from South America take a keen interest to the tournament which is a pleasant surprise. Over 10 thousand fans are expected to come and support the national team of Chile.

The tournament 2017 will be undoubtedly held on the toplevel. Four cities most ready to receipt the world-class tournament have been chosen as the host cities. Saint Petersburg, Kazan, Moscow and Sochi have modern sports arenas and all necessary transport and hotel infrastructure to receipt a large number of guests. Only the Saint Petersburg stadium brought a few problems. However, in case of Krestovsky Stadium unavailability to the tournament, matches will be transferred from Saint Petersburg to Moscow.

Tournament history

The 2017 Confederations Cup will be held for the seventh time. The first tournament took place in 1997 in Saudi Arabia. Initially, the Confederations Cup passed once two years, however, since 2005 it was decided to hold the tournament once four years. The Brazil national team, which is also the current winner, became the first owner of the trophy. In total, Brazilians managed to win four tournaments from seven. Twice the French national team got the Cup, another time the tournament winner became the Mexico national team.

The Brazil national football team is the four-time winner of the Confederations Cup
The Brazil national football team is the four-time winner of the Confederations Cup

Brazil is the champion according the number of participations in the Confederations Cup. The five-time world champions took part in all previous tournaments, but they did not managed to be selected for Russia. The tournament 2017 will become debut for three national teams at once. Teams of Russia, Portugal and Chile will participate in the tournament for the first time.

See Also


France Croatia
France 4 : 2 Croatia
Belgium England
Belgium 2 : 0 England
Croatia England
Croatia 2 : 1 England
France Belgium
France 1 : 0 Belgium
Russia Croatia
Russia 2 : 2 Croatia
(penalty 3 : 4)
2018 FIFA World Cup